Learning Blog

What All You Need to Know About ITIL Certification Roadmap


The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is the primary framework for managing IT service delivery across industries around the globe. It defines a service lifecycle model that lays the activities and processes for design, development and delivery of IT services.

ITIL consists of five core phases or practice areas of IT Service Lifecycle, with supporting principles within each phase:
Service Strategy
Service Design
Service Transition
Service Operation
Continual Service Improvement

ITIL Certification – Benchmark for Demonstrating IT Service Management Skills
To implement ITIL Framework, professionals need to have full knowledge and proficiency in IT Service Management (ITSM) best practices, that can be achieved by getting ITIL qualification. If you are looking to get qualified in ITIL, then you need to be well aware of ITIL certification scheme in detail.

ITIL Certification Roadmap

ITIL Certifications uses a modular credit system, with each ITIL qualification assigned a specific credit value:

ITIL Foundation

It provides understating of key concepts, elements and terminologies associated with ITSM. This allows candidates to understand what ITIL is and offers overviews on the methodologies for ITIL services support and delivery. There is no prerequisite for attempting ITIL Foundation exam. 2 credits are earned after qualifying Foundation level.

ITIL Intermediate

The Intermediate level requires the candidate to have passed the Foundation level. Candidates can attempt any number of ITIL Intermediate module combinations from the total nine modules to earn minimum 15 credits, to move to further ITIL level. It consists of two stages; Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. Service Lifecycle contains 5 modules, including Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement. Service Lifecycle modules provide management-oriented knowledge of ITIL processes. Each module is assigned 3 credits. Service Capability contains 4 modules, including Planning Protection and Optimization, Release Control and Validation, Operational Support and Analysis and Service Offerings and Agreements. Service Capability modules provide execution-oriented knowledge of ITIL processes. Each module is assigned 4 credits.

ITIL Practitioner

The newest entry to the ITIL qualification scheme, ITIL Practitioner offers guidance on how to adopt and adapt ITIL Framework to support business objectives. ITIL Practitioner can be attempted after Foundation or Intermediate level. But it is not a mandatory prerequisite for ITIL Expert level. 3 credits are earned after qualifying Practitioner level.

ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)

It provides the necessary and knowledge and skills to ITSM professionals to support their organization’s service delivery by unifying the Service Lifecycle stages. It puts into context, the collective ITIL practices and processes from the lifecycle and capability streams. You need to pass ITIL Intermediate qualification to attempt ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC). 5 credits are earned after qualifying MALC level.

ITIL Expert

It involves gaining skills and knowledge of the ITIL processes and practices in entirety across all ITIL disciplines. You need to have earned minimum of total 22 credits from ITIL Foundation, Intermediate and MALC levels combined. The 3 credits earned from ITIL Practitioner qualification also counts towards ITIL Expert. There are no credits for passing the ITIL Expert level, but this qualification is the prerequisite for attempting the ITIL Master certification.

ITIL Master

It details application knowledge and skills of ITIL Framework for professionals involved in higher level of ITSM planning, management and operations. You need to have earned ITIL Expert credential to move to ITIL Master.

Gaining knowledge of the entire ITIL certification roadmap can help you assess your goals related to ITIL qualifications and how you need to progress. NetCom Learning, through a structured process provides a comprehensive ITIL certification preparation process through comprehensive ITIL certification training courses, whether you are a beginner or an experienced professional in ITSM field.